yesterday's tennessee

Yesterday's Tennessee


Private Acts of192l, Chapter 822, Page 2544, created the Darden Special. School District out of the 6th Civil District of Henderson County-including the area described in the act. The district would be operated by a five member Board of Directors, composed initially of J.C. Neely, L.B. Moore, Asa Davis, W.O. Hill, and W.F. Boren, who would choose a President, Secretary, and Treasurer, and all serve four year terms. Schools must be kept oppn for nine months and the Board could levy a tax rate of 2-1/2 mills on the dollar plus a $1.00 Poll Tax on all males between 21. and 50 years of age. All funds, including the pro rated share of school funds from the State, would be paid out under the supervision of the Board. All would serve without compensation except the Secretary who would be paid to gather the scholastic census.

Return to History of Darden

top · home · yesterday's · families · schools · links · what's new · memorial · about

This site was created by David Donahue and Brenda Kirk Fiddler.
This site is currently maintained by Jerry L. Butler
Copyright © 2004 - 2010, All rights reserved