yesterday's tennessee

Yesterday's Tennessee

United Grocery Company
Our 50th Year, 1905-1955

from the collection of Brenda Fiddler

<< previous
next >>
  select page  

click to view original page

click image to view original page

loading and unloading merchandise, with the capable assistance of two colored helpers, Bill and John Taylor.

With the World War came market and price fluctuations which were reflected in the wholesale grocery business, but the level of prosperity was so well maintained that a number of the younger members of the Enochs-Edenton firm felt that an additional wholesale outlet was needed to satisfy the growing demand.  In 1917, W. C. Fanning, R. T. Hart and W. W. Hay, who had become bookkeeper on the death of Mr. Denver in 1911, withdrew from Enochs-Edenton and joined with others to form the Fanning-Hart-Hay Company with W. C. Fanning, President, T. Edwards, Vice-President, R. T. Hart, 2nd Vice-President, and W. W. Hay, Secretary-Treasurer and Manager.  The Directors of the new company included T. B. Autry, R. A. Lewis, W. C. Fanning, J. H. Fanning, R. T. Hart, M. B. Hart, W. G. Walker, G. W. Priddy and W. W. Hay.

The Enochs-Edenton Company and the Fanning-Hart-Hay Company merged in 1918 as United Grocery Company, a name that was to become synonymous with wholesale grocery distribution in north and eastern West Tennessee.  Since that time, despite depression, recession and war, the United Grocery Company has steadily moved forward, until it now occupies a preeminent position among similar firms throughout the state.

Many young men and women have received their business.

[photo caption]


Left to Right:  Hugo Turrentine, Stanley Bartholomew, R. C. Veteto, Frank Bedwell, Elmer Middleton, Tony Adams, Clarence Cathey, Oscar L. York

<< previous
next >>
  select page  

top · home · yesterday's · families · schools · links · what's new · memorial · about

This site was created by David Donahue and Brenda Kirk Fiddler.
This site is currently maintained by Jerry L. Butler
Copyright © 2004 - 2010, All rights reserved